Asia & India

Maharajas’ Express Luxury Train, India

Maharajas’ Express

The Maharajas’ Express is a five-star luxury train that runs on four circuits around North-West and Central India, covering more than 12 destinations. Its most popular routes concentrate on India’s Golden Triangle between Delhi, Agra and Jaipur and the train covers many of the key destinations in the state of Rajasthan. 

The Maharajas’ Express has been voted the ‘World’s Leading Luxury Train’ at the World Travel Awards for five consecutive years, offering lucky guests the chance to explore the cultural heritage of India on one of the most glamorous trains in the world. On board, you will enjoy opulent traditional decoration, grand and luxurious cabins plus beautifully decorated restaurant cars. The Maharajas’ Express train offers tours to several world class destinations and those on board will get the chance to see the Taj Mahal in Agra, discover the wonder of the ‘Pink City’ Jaipur and maybe even spot a Bengal tigers in Ranthambhore National Park.  

Prices from: US $3,850
Passengers: 88
Carriages: 19
Departing from: Delhi and Mumbai stations
Journey length: 3 to 6 nights

  • Maharajas Express train guests India
  • Maharajas Express train guests
  • India man
  • Maharajas Express train India bar
  • Maharajas Express train India Rang Mahal restaurant dining
  • Maharajas Express luxury train India suite bedroom
  • Maharajas Express train dining restaurant car
  • Maharajas Express train India presidential suite
  • Maharajas Express luxury train India

Maharajas’ Express journeys

Holidaymakers can choose from four journeys, lasting between three or six nights. These are as follows:

  • 3-night Treasures of India: Delhi–Agra–Jaipur–Delhi.
  • 6-night Indian Panorama: Delhi–Jaipur–Ranthambhore–Fatehpur Sikri–Agra–Gwalior–Orchha–Khajuraho–Varanasi–Lucknow–Delhi.
  • 6-night The Heritage of India: Mumbai–Ajanta–Udaipur–Jodhpur–Bikaner–Jaipur–Ranthambore–Fatehpur Sikri– Agra–Delhi
  • 6-night Indian Splendour: Delhi–Agra–Ranthambore–Jaipur–Bikaner–Jodpur–Udaipur–Balsinor–Mumbai.

At each stop you will be taken off the train to enjoy some well-planned excursions, accompanied by knowledgeable guides.

The train

With its distinctive red, blue and gold livery, the Maharajas’ Express stands out in a class of its own on the bustling Indian stations. This luxury hotel-on-wheels is almost half-a-mile long and dazzles in the sunshine, with its tiger-adorned logo and beautifully dressed staff who will escort you on board. Inside its 19 carriages you will discover the very best of traditional Indian decor with wood-panelled sleeping cabins and Raj-style restaurant and bar cars. 

Maharajas Express train India lounge car


On board, the wood panelled, beautifully decorated sleeping cars have a maximum of four cabins per carriage, which makes them unusually spacious for a train. All cabins are air-conditioned and ensuite with a TV and free Wi-Fi. In every cabin you will find a bathrobe, slippers, hairdryer and a range of luxury toiletries. The Maharajas’ Express has 14 guest carriages with four categories of cabins/suites: Deluxe Cabin, Junior Suite, Suite and Presidential Suite.

The Presidential Suite comprises an entire carriage with two bedrooms, two bathrooms (one with a bath), a separate living area and a dining room. The train has 20 Deluxe Cabins of which 12 are twin bedded and eight double bedded. During your stay, you will be treated to a personal valet, who is on board to help you with anything on and off the train. The staff-to-guest ratio on this train is particularly high, which ensures a fantastic level of service.

  • Maharajas Express train India twin room
  • Maharajas Express train India bedroom
  • Maharajas Express train India presidential suite
  • Maharajas Express train India double room
  • Maharajas Express train India dining restaurant
  • Maharajas Express luxury train India suite bedroom
  • Maharajas Express train India suite
  • Maharajas Express luxury train India

Food and drink

On board you will find two opulently decorated restaurants – the Mayur Mahal, named after India’s peacock and the Rang Mahal, which translates as the ‘Palace of Colours’. Each restaurant can accommodate up to 42 guests with tables for two or four. On the menu you will find a wide range of local dishes as well as international favourites. The on-board sommelier will pair wines for you for lunch and dinner. For a pre or after dinner drink, head to one of the bar cars where cocktails and classic drinks are served in fine crystal glasses, giving a wonderful clubby atmosphere.

Dress code on the Maharajas’ Express

Like a five-star hotel, guests are encouraged to dress smartly for dinner. For daytime excursions casual wear is the order of the day. Be sure to take a sun hat sun cream and plenty of insect repellent with you.


The Maharajas’ Express is an excursion train, giving passengers the chance to explore each destination with a jam-packed itinerary. Depending on route, passengers are able to enjoy the likes of a visit to the City Palace Galleries in Jaipur followed by dinner at Rambagh Palace Hotel, or a game drive at the Ranthambore National Park. Tourists will appreciate the excursions in Agra to the Taj Mahal and visiting the Junagarh Fort followed by sundowners at Sand Dunes. All excursions are included in the train fare.

Taj Mahal India

Fellow passengers

This famous train is popular with travellers from all over the world and is especially popular with people from the USA and the UK. Expect an older, educated crowd who want to see India in style. 

What’s included on the Maharajas’ Express

A journey on the Maharajas’ Express is inclusive of all meals, drinks and daytime excursions. Guests receive butler service for free too. 

Pros and cons

A journey on this five-star train is a real treat and if you’ve never been to India before, you’ll be amazed at the wonder and spectacle of this fascinating country. On board, you’ll find old-school service and style. The only downside is that some of the Western dishes on the menu are a bit disappointing, but that’s a small point.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: